Risk Awards

The ALARM Risk Awards were created to recognise achievement in risk management, acknowledging the work of risk and insurance practitioners across a number of categories.

The Risk Awards are a great opportunity to showcase the fantastic work undertaken by your teams and organisations and they are FREE to enter.

The winners will be announced at our annual Risk Awards dinner where we will step back in time to the roaring twenties, a decade of social dynamism and glamour. Returning to The Principal Manchester on Monday 22 June, the Risk Awards dinner will be a Gatsby-esque soiree, fully embracing the art deco and flapper style the twenties is famous for. 

Criteria and entry requirements are detailed in our entry brochure.

Organisational Awards

Operational Risk Award
This Award recognises innovative management of operational risk including those risks that affect the organisation’s day-to-day service delivery, those that impact on efficiency, health and safety risk, governance, insurable risk and effective business continuity. Entries will be judged on the evaluation of innovation, challenges and success of the initiative. 

Community Risk Award
This Award recognises those initiatives that have identified and improved risk within the community. This can include civil contingency risks; initiatives that help deliver better services to citizens or where there is evidence of improved community cohesion.

Best Response to Critical Incident Award 
This Award recognises the achievements of an organisation/team in leading on or contributing to the effective recovery following a significant incident. The incident could be related to serious weather, fire, cyber-attack/data breach, reputational risk, or health and safety.

Best Use of Technology in Risk Management Award    
This Award will be presented to the organisation/team that demonstrates how, with the use of technology, risks are identified, measured and managed, with positive impacts to business and operational objectives. This can include the use of technology in the capture and analysis of risk management information, in delivering risk initiatives, in delivering claims and insurance services, in horizon scanning or by using technology in business recovery/continuity. 

Best Initiative in Combatting Fraud Award
This Award recognises those organisations/teams that have led on or supported the implementation of risk management initiatives that have helped reduce and combat fraud within their organisation and their community. This can include fraud that occurs in any part of the organisation or affects the wider community such as within claims handling, revenue and benefits, procurement, tenants and leaseholders or preventing citizens from becoming victims of fraud.

Best Insurance Initiative Award 

This Award recognises organisations/teams that have implemented innovative and effective initiatives relating to public service insurance and associated claims handling. Judges are looking for initiatives that have produced innovative insurance/risk transfer solutions; improved claims handling and a demonstrable benefit financially, to the operation achievements of the organisation or to stakeholders and customers. 

Collaborative Working with External Partners Award 
This Award will be presented to an organisation that demonstrates innovative and effective risk management/insurance/claims handling initiatives that are achieved through collaborative working. This Award is judged based on evidence that partnership and collaborative working, to produce a product, process or to manage a risk, has been effective and resulted in better outcomes and mitigation of the risk(s) identified.

Member Awards

Professional of the Year Award
This Award will be presented to an outstanding professional who demonstrates achievement, commitment and enthusiasm in the promotion and delivery of risk and insurance within public services.

Team of the Year Award
This Award recognises the accomplishments of a team in delivering effective risk management. Any team contributing to the management of risk in their organisation is eligible, including governance, claims handling, health and safety, fraud investigation and finance. 


Discover the many benefits of ALARM membership

Find Out More

Stay up to date

If you have a specific query, why not contact a member of our office team directly? We will be pleased to assist you - whatever your question.


Our Platinum Sponsors